Our History

This is a relatively new council which came into existence on 4 June 2009, when its 7 councillors, representing the three wards of Charlestown, Duporth and Porthpean/Trenarren, were elected. Prior to this the whole of the St Austell area, including the town itself, was the only unparished area in the county, without any elected representation at a local level, and relying on Restormel Borough Council to promote its interests. As part of the move towards establishing Cornwall as a unitary authority, when all borough councils were to be abolished, plans were made to create new parish and town councils throughout the St Austell area.

Restormel contacted local residents’ groups and other interested parties and, following a public meeting, working groups of interested volunteers were set up to work alongside the existing borough and county councillors in establishing the new parish areas and to prepare for the formation of the new parish councils. These later became Temporary Parish Councils. Plenty of training was provided. Crucially, St Austell Bay Temporary Parish Council consulted with local residents about what is important to them, and the questionnaire results and other feedback was instrumental in helping to guide the new Parish Council.

As the population of the parish increased, the number of councillors was also increased from 7 to the current 9. 

Porthpean grey and white image

historical swimming matches in Porthpean

Boat on porthpean beach

historical vehicle